NOT AN EASY ROAD! RTP Awards Still Have Challenges – Jesse Agyepong, New C.O.O Of Scheme

The RTP Awards has new management, new headline sponsors and new vision, although the Chief Executive Officer has not changed.  Also, the reason(s) for setting up the awards are the same – has learned.

The Chief Operating Officer of Big Events Ghana, organizers of the annual Radio and Television Personality (RTP) Awards, Jesse Agyepong, has said the relevance and credibility of the scheme cannot be pooh-poohed with regards to concerns some persons have raised about the event – reports!

Speaking to on the sidelines of a ceremony to unveil nominees for the 7th edition in Accra, Mr. Agyepong indicated that the brand keeps growing as it wholeheartedly welcomes criticisms and suggestions.

“The question of relevance keeps coming up and any award scheme which doesn’t speak to the core of the reasons why it was set up, fails to be relevant. The reason for setting up the RTP is still the same. Media personalities play a very key role in our evolution as a country, so, the platform has been created to ensure that those who are driving a very impactful agenda are recognized,” he said.

“I think it’s still quite relevant. It’s not a platform which hasn’t had its challenges. The challenges still exist. Many individuals have spoken about regional representation but I always say that we are a country that debates to help processes. So when Ghana challenges you, you should embrace it. What’s important to us is to ensure that we embrace the challenges and make it work. Which is why this year, we organized an unveiling session.There are things we will fix along the line,” he added.

This year’s edition, according to organizers, “is set to trail the blaze with an introduction of exciting innovations and set the tone for quality and internationally competitive Awards organization in Ghana across all major industries.”

Competing for the RTP Personality of the Year are Bola Ray (Starr FM/GhOne TV), Bernard Avle (Citi FM), Patrick Osei Agyemang (Adom TV), Gifty Anti (The Standpoint) and Nana Aba Anamoah (GhOne TV).

Dr. Osei Kwame Despite (CEO of Despite Group of Companies), Dr. Kweku Oteng (CEO of Angel Group of Companies), Honorable Kennedy Agyapong (CEO of Kencity Media) and Nana Konadu Agyemang- Rawlings (Former First Lady of Ghana) will all be honoured for their respective contributions to the media.

You may also like