THE BEST! Catholic University Wins 3rd Edition of ‘Duapa Challenge’ By British Council

If names and popularity were the criteria for choosing the best University, Catholic University College of Ghana would have placed last in a league consisting of the University of Ghana, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology among other prominent tertiary institutions – but, the British Council’s ‘Duapa Challenge’ is not hinged on popularity.

Representatives from the Catholic University College of Ghana put up the most convincing pitch to win the 3rd edition of the ‘Duapa Challenge’ – beating University of Ghana, Ashesi University, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, , Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration.

Tagged the ‘The Campus Duel’, Catholic University impressed the three (3) judges for the event, Mrs. Comfort Ocran, Jessie Agyapong and Amma Lartey – surpassing the University of Ghana and Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, which placed 2nd and 3rd respectively.

For their prize, Catholic University took home an amount of Ghc10, 000 as seed funding for their project of providing skills to inmates at the prisons in Ghana.

The ‘Duapa Challenge’, as part of the British Council’s contributions to the social enterprise ecosystem, is a social innovation competition which seeks to promote economic growth, private sector development and youth employment through enterprise. Over the past two years, the competition achieved its aim in identifying and supporting brilliant social enterprises like Trotro Tractor, Zaacoal and CowTribe which are currently in operation

The 3rd edition was primarily focused on student ventures, exploring innovative social enterprise ideas that can be supported to viable businesses.

There were grand performances from the likes of Adomaa, a former winner of Vodafone Ghana Music Awards (VGMA) ‘Unsung’ and Drew of ‘MTN Hitmaker’ fame.

Check out the photos of the event;

Ecstatic students of Catholic University


Host, George Quaye, announcing the winning school


The winning team


Judges ; Jessie Agyapong, Comfort Oscran & Amma Lartey

Adomaa was at her best

You may also like